top of page

Former Wolves star George Elokobi on his emotional Cameroon call up.

George Elokobi is a true professional who has shown his dedication and optimism his whole career, scoring in the top 6 divisions of English football, and playing over 50 Premier League games. The pinnacle of a footballer’s career is being called up to represent your country, and this is George Elokobi’s story behind his call up.

Born in Mamfe, Cameroon, George Elokobi’s story is a truly inspiring one, which any young football fan can look up to. George started his career at Dulwich Hamlet after moving from his native country Cameroon to England when he was 16.


George had experienced a lot of pain in his early life, losing his father and grandfather at the age of 11. He lived with his grandmother before he moved to London with his mother. He studied business, IT, and sociology at college, but he always had a passion for sport.


George was scouted by Colchester United whilst at Dulwich Hamlet, and after a trial period with the U’s, he was signed at the end of the 2003-04 season as he became Phil Parkinson’s fourth summer signing.


George grew from strength to strength (quite literally physically) but also in his football ability and career. Skip forward 5 years, to 2008, and George Elokobi had signed for Wolverhampton Wanderers for £500,000.


One of the highlights of his Wolves career was scoring his first ever goal for the club at the “Theatre of Dreams”, Old Trafford, home of Manchester United. Elokobi made 58 Premier League appearances whilst at Wolves, and during his time under Mick McCarthy, he got a very special envelope.

“It was incredible getting called up to my national team.” George explained, “As a young boy when you grow up, all you wish for is to represent your country.”


He laughed about how nervous he was to receive a letter from Cameroon, “At the time, it was a fax that came through, and the secretary came up to me with a brown envelope and told me that it was from Cameroon.”


George joked, “I got scared thinking that I had done something wrong, and that I needed to go home!”


Elation quickly overcame his fear though, as, “Opening the envelope, I saw that it was a letter to ask me to represent Cameroon. I was so happy. I rang my family; I was so happy!”


When asked if he felt pressure, he replied: “I didn’t feel pressure. I knew in my mind and my body I was ready to help my country. I just had to show why I was given this opportunity.


“I was playing so well for Wolves in the Premiership against some of the world’s best players and clubs.

“I knew I was merited the call up, so I didn’t feel pressure, I knew I belonged there.”


George Elokobi’s confidence in knowing he was ready for the national team illustrates the reasons behind all the successes he has seen in his career.


Nobody can take away a national team call up from you, and George’s career is something he can be proud of.


Cover photo: Helen Cooper, @acerhelen on Instagram!






Comments


bottom of page